04
Jun
12

A Bad Day

I’m writing this Drake-i-sode from his bedside at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital. Sunday morning, I had the worst scare of my life. At 8:30am, my baby had a reflux event. He started to spit up about 15minutes after he finished his feed. The he spewed out what looked like a 4 foot fountain. Thinking I would easily be able to suck out his nose and get him back to normal, I didn’t panic at first. Then nose sucking didn’t work. He started to go pale and limp and not have a Drake fit at the non-effective nasal aspirator. Luckily, his Nana (an RN) was visiing. She took him over and started sucking out his throat. Heavy mucus grossness would come out and he’d give a very weak cry, but we couldn’t get his color back or get him to stay mad and crying. I called 911.

At the end of this long day of hospital observation, all I can think about is the fact that I almost lost him today. I was worried about handling his re-entering the hospital for his surgery, and he gave me a sneak preview. I can handle whatever I need to as long as I get to keep the darling boy with the big blue eyes and developing grin with me for many more years.

My husband and I are starting to come to the realization that I may not be able to return to work as expected. I have no idea yet how we’re going to handle that one.

0 Responses to “A Bad Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


