18
Aug
12

RSV Protection

My son is a 30 weeker born in February. He spent about 4 hours intubated, 3 days on CPAP, and 2 weeks on nasal cannula. We received one Synagis shot when it was time to come home in late March.  His pediatrician helped us file an appeal to try to get him an April and May shot because our area had a late season. We were denied again anyway, so we stayed on lockdown until mid-June.

How to handle the upcoming cold and flu season has been on my mind a lot lately. I’ve been reading stories of other preemie families around the same birth age as my son. I want to have all my questions ready to ask at his 6 month wellness visit this week.

I think I have our plan mapped out. I know my husband will support me. I’m working on a letter for family and friends because I know there will be some resistance there. In the end, I will do what I feel is best for my son. I feel like this fall is especially important because he will be having surgery requiring anesthesia in November.

http://www.absolutetotalcare.com/files/2011/12/Synagis-2011-2012-Authorization-Guidelines_2011-07-28.pdf

Drake just barely misses the cutoff for round 2.

Good luck to all preemie families trying to keep their babies safe from this disease!

 

 

 

 

 

0 Responses to “RSV Protection”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


