14
Mar
13

Alone No More

This week I am so thankful for a brave mama in my area who decided to start up a local support group.

I was usually at the NICU during the day, so I didn’t run into many other parents. I definitely had my moments of feeling extremely lost the past year as none of our friends or family had ever had a NICU experience.

That’s something the preemie internet community definitely provides as we share our stories and support each other, but it’s nice to know there’s someone close by that you could invite to coffee if you wanted to.

That’s all I’m going to say about that for now as it’s a small, private group. Anyone in the Cincinnati area is welcome to join who has experienced a NICU stay with their child though so feel free to message me if you’d like to be pointed in that direction.

I had two reminders on facebook today of WHY we have endured RSV isolation for most of his first year. My bout with Influenza A was a scary reminder, too, but these images make my heart stop and are keeping me up tonight.

One was a post on my college band alumni page about a couple who graduated a bit after me that lost their son at only 13 months old after a brief illness. The second was of one of my college roommates full-term infant son with a breathing treatment mask on due to RSV.

So even though the long, cold winter is drawing to a close and spring can be felt in the air. I will not be lazy or forget exactly WHY we are doing what we do. It’s so tempting to go ahead and take him with us on errands, but we have worked so hard to be healthy. He has worked too hard.

And my heart just aches for these families dealing with loss and illness….

0 Responses to “Alone No More”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


