07
May
13

Ask, Don’t Stare

While checking out my newsfeed over my morning coffee, I came across this gem from Bar Bumpers.**

Says any parent with medical equipment or a unique kid.

Says any parent with medical equipment or a unique kid.

**I asked permission from Bar Bumpers prior to posting.

We have always used the sleep sacks to keep Drake warm in his “nite-nite” shoes, but I absolutely love these. Bar Bumpers will custom embroider a bar bumper and shoe covers.

I should take a picture of our changing table, cradle, and crib to show the damage that is wrought on wooden furniture by a kicky baby with an large metal bar.

D in his "boots & bar" at 6 months actual.

D in his “boots & bar” at 6 months actual.

I love the craftiness and the practicality of these sets, but the message of this one is what really stopped me in my tracks this morning.

Last summer, Drake was on his last 2 rounds of casting for his clubfoot correction just as we came out of RSV isolation post- NICU discharge. I was still in the fragile, guilty new preemie mom stage. We decided to go to a popular brunch restaurant early one morning. Of course, I felt like people were staring me down as I carried my newborn-sized infant with a hip to toe cast on his left leg. The looks you get make you feel like social services is going to jump out and grab your child any minute. After casting, the Ponseti correction method continues with 23/7 bracing for three months.

4th Cast Mother's Day 2012

4th Cast Mother’s Day 2012

Ask, don’t stare, ladies and gentleman. Most parents are going to be willing to educate you if asked politely and having a good day.

I love these whimsical boot and bar covers. I really need to reach out and see if she’s willing to ship to the US.

You can view all the Bar Bumper offerings on their website  http://www.barbumpers.co.uk/.

Love, love, love the site motto, also. “Bringing fun and fashion into the world of Boots and Bars. “

5 Responses to “Ask, Don’t Stare”


  1. May 7, 2013 at 12:28 am

    Baby cast?! How cute is that?! And yes…I actually think it’s adorable. Is that crazy? Poor little guy but the bright side is that he won’t remember a thing. 😉

  2. May 7, 2013 at 12:32 am

    LOL, It really was as much as I cried over the first one. The soaking off of each one prior to the doctor visit was not fun though.

    Confession, I would sign each one with a little note. Makes me feel kinda silly to say so. Each one was soaked off so it’s not like we kept them.

  3. 4 susi Ludlow
    May 7, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    I have a 1yr old going through Ponsetti treatment and have also had the same issue. Annoyed me to the point where I would just say loudly as I walked past the offending person, he’s got clubfoot not broken legs, and they would look away all embarrassed… the bar bumpers are fantastic and my little one has two..

    • May 8, 2013 at 3:15 pm

      I wish I had your spunk! I am so excited that Taz ships worldwide! Can’t wait to order ours! Now to decide which ones, that’s the hard part. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


