03
Jun
13

World Clubfoot Day

Today is the first World Clubfoot Day as declared by the Ponseti International Association raising awareness for this treatable but potentially disabling congenital condition.

June 3rd was the birthdate of Dr. Ignacio Ponseti, developer of the Ponseti Method, an effective nonsurgical method of treating talipes or Clubfoot.

I am thankful that this method of treatment existed for Drake, and that the orthopedic team at Cincy Children’s was trained in its use.

Not all children with talipes have access to trained medical staff and afo’s for correction. Raising awareness is so important.

20130603-222234.jpg

 

6/4/13 Addition:

Have to add a bit to this one. I felt awful for missing most of the first World Clubfoot Awareness day so I posted this from bed last night with the hubby asking me to put the iPhone away.

The picture above is one of my only ones from the NICU that show Drake’s clubfoot. We actually didn’t even receive that diagnosis until his Orthopedic visit one month after his discharge. We are so very lucky that his correction seems to have worked and is holding beautifully. Most infants are casted within a few days of birth. Of course, his first cast was 4/26 which was still 1 day shy of his due date.

While in the NICU, he received therapy as part of each diaper change. We were taught to do the hip and foot exercises. Since I was having so much trouble with milk, I was (eventually) so glad to have another way to feel like his mom and that I was proactively doing SOMETHING for his well being.

Thank you to Dr. Ponseti, who would have been 99 yesterday, and the Ponseti International Association for giving us a nonsurgical treatment and a day to raise awareness.

I was so excited to mail my first pair of “night-night” shoes to a family in need last week. Drake’s size 0’s went to a new home thanks to the Clubfoot Shoe Exchange founded and run by mom Janet whose son sees a doctor in the same Cincinnati Children’s group as Drake. You can find them on Facebook if you know of a family in need due to insurance woes. We have been so blessed to have all of Drake’s shoes covered.

I promise that I don’t jump on the bandwagon of every cause out there. Prematurity and Clubfoot awareness have become very dear to me and my family.

Also, I have actually had people ask if I was a smoker because I had both a preemie and a child with clubfoot. The answer is NO. We do not have a reason for either, and that is probably the most hurtful thing anyone has ever said to me.

 

 

2 Responses to “World Clubfoot Day”


  1. 1 Jill
    September 25, 2014 at 1:03 am

    Are you on FB? My daughter has Clubfoot too đŸ™‚

  2. September 26, 2014 at 7:32 am

    Hi Jill! I am on FB. I belong to a group called “Clubfoot is Treatable” you can find it here:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/2365746399/


Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


