25
Jun
13

Arrrrrrrggggghhhhh

Today was Early Intervention evaluation day. I did like our evaluator, but I have to say I’m starting to think my state’s rules on qualifying really suck.

Based on our post-eval discussion, I think D is going to end up one of those kids stuck in the in-between. I honestly feel like finding an isolated spot and just screaming at the top of my lungs for an hour. There is nothing more frustrating and scary than knowing your child needs help and being scared you won’t be able to provide it.

She agreed to some of the same issues I believe we need to be concerned with and even brought to light something I hadn’t yet caught on to.

Of course his NICU follow-up report came in the mail TODAY. Two hours after it could have been useful.

So GRR universe. My body may have failed my son, but I’ll be damned if my mind will. He WILL get the help he needs if I have to work three jobs to get it for him.

I haven’t felt this angry and frustrated since the day I got the Synagis appeal denial letter last fall.

We should hear by the end of the week if he qualifies. Because he is performing at the low end of his adjusted age. He may not qualify for EI until after 24 months. I do not want to wait until he’s 2 to address gross motor and speech delays.

Tomorrow, I will start investigating private options, how our insurance would handle it, and obtaining the referrals needed.

2 Responses to “Arrrrrrrggggghhhhh”


  1. June 25, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    Preemies run in the grey. It’s a Terrible feeling. I know because that’s where we live, too. Hugs, momma!

  2. June 26, 2013 at 7:15 am

    That’s so frustrating. I’m sorry! Hugs and good luck!


Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


