24
Sep
13

Why I Will NEVER Wear Pants Without Pockets Again!

Some blog posts are rants, some are joyful celebrations, and some just plain write themselves.

I woke up on time this morning. So I got  to clean the kitchen, pack my gym bag, play with Drake, and walk the dog without feeling crazy.

I took our two bags and Drake out to the car, and was strapping him in for our drive to work.  Since my pants didn’t have any pockets, I laid my phone on the seat next to the car seat and handed Drake the keys because I know he loves them. Since we were having such a good morning, I didn’t want it spoiled with a power struggle over car seat straps and it worked.

Usually the car keys and phone are in my pocket, and Drake is playing with “his” keys, a set of old ones I put together for him.

I wanted my round hairbrush out of my bag in the back and in my gym bag, so I grabbed the brush, shut the hatch to the CRV and as I reached for the driver door handle I heard “click.”

Oh no, oh s*&t. This is not happening.

I also usually leave my door open until the getting the 19 month old into the car act is completed.

So of course I try cajoling first. “C’mon Drake, push the other button. You’re so awesome push the other button.”  He smiles at me repeatedly pushing the lock button.

Da*&^t.

So I go knock on the neighbors door. No one home. I go and try to kick our back door in for the spare key. Nope.

I go back to the car, and plead. “You can do it. Hit more buttons. C’mon buddy!” The panic alarm starts going off. Whooo wooo wooo Whoooss a dummy. Whooos a dummy.

Then after another click the alarm turns off. Then one more click and the door opens when I pull the handle.

“YOU ARE AWESOME! But no more keys.”

Daddy’s response, “I told you giving him the car keys was a bad idea.”

Thank goodness it was only 55 degrees this morning. Yay fall.

0 Responses to “Why I Will NEVER Wear Pants Without Pockets Again!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


