30
Jan
14

Sick Again

This week’s illness is a massive head cold. He’s been sick since Friday night, so we’re at the holding him at night next to the humidifier covered in baby rub so he doesn’t cough all night long stage. We missed school again this week.

So far, we have:

Week 1 – Stomach Virus

Week 2 – Went to school both days, ate all his meals and started acclimating to his environment

Week 3 – Fever, runny nose, cough and a mantra of “my ears are stuck”, no school

I have to say, “My ears stuck, Mama,” is the cutest way ever to describe that full feeling your ears get with a cold, but I’m probably a bit biased.

Everyone, from his father to all aspects of his medical team (neonatologist, EI therapists, pediatrician) agreed we were ready to skip isolation this year and try school in January. I had my doubts, but I chalked them up to preemie mama crazy and went along with the plan.

I don’t want to be right.

We selected a school with the smallest class we could find (6 kids). I knew last week at drop off from the red, runny noses that we were probably in for it.

I do wish I could just react normally to sickness instead of feeling like I need to sit up all night listening to him breathe, and freaking out at every moment his breath pauses before the start of a coughing spell.

I left him with Daddy today, and came into work for our monthly staff meeting. I needed the break, and Daddy is just as watchful if not more careful than I am.

To top it off we’ve got relatives making comments like:

“Wow, he really doesn’t tolerate noisy environments well. I wonder if something’s wrong.”

Yeah, he was born before his neurological system was fully developed. That’s why you were kicked out of the NICU for being loud. 😛 And it’s what we’re working on in EI every week along with his eating, tone and orthopedic issues.

“I hope he’s not developing childhood asthma.”

His lungs STILL aren’t fully mature compared to his peers. It’s WHY we were on isolation last winter. So yeah, he does get out of breath more easily than other kids his age. His saturation level starts out lower than theirs without being sick.

Or my favorite…

“I thought he was going to catch up by 2. His birthday’s next month.”

GRR. Sigh. These are the types of days where I’m pretty sure I could still use some therapy or a vacation. I think I actually miss RSV isolation. I know me from last year would laugh at me, and give me an are you serious look.

2 Responses to “Sick Again”


  1. January 30, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    I am sorry Drake is sick again 😦 I hope he feels better fast! get well soon Drake! I know it doesn’t make things easier, but I think all kids are sick in the beginning when they first enter a community setting like school, nursery. I remember when I entered Blackberry #1 (and even he was a late preemmie at 35 weeks) to nursery when he was 2 years and 2 month old, after 3 days in the nursery he got so sick he had to stay home for 2 weeks… So in some aspect it is normal that Drake is getting sick… But I agree preemies are different…. And these nursery, preschool germs, they are so frustrating, so strong, I even got sick from Blackberry #1 a number of times….Try to ignore the comments, the relatives, friends always “know” everything better, and most of the time it is annoying….
    Blackberry #2 will be 1 years old finally tommorrow according to his adjusted age! yeah! But I am again keeping him in isolation. So I understand that you are worried! I hope Drake will get well soon and hopefully will get sick less often…. hang in there! xoxo Fanni


Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


