13
Feb
14

Final Discharge

We had our final NICU follow up clinic visit this week. The child I brought to this visit was a little on the skinny side, but was so completely different development-wise when compared to last June that I think his team was shocked. Thank you, Early Intervention! Last June, we weren’t walking, gesturing or talking. And the results from that June visit had this mama really scared.

This final visit was a great visit. I’m really going to miss his Physical Therapist, Christy. She taught me how to do his exercises for his hips and legs, and navigated me through the diagnosis of his clubfoot and what treatments and outcomes to expect in our NICU days. I didn’t realize how much I’m going to miss his neonatologist and the rest of that team. They’ve scared me and reassured me, and gotten us through moments we never expected.

We are going to be getting him fitted for orthotics soon. In addition to the left clubfoot, he’s having a lot of issues with balance and transitioning still. We’ve increased his PT visits with EI from once every 3 weeks to once a week, and decreased his DI visits from once a week to once a month. If we can’t get his feeding habits to improve, we’re to do an eval with OT through EI in the next 60 days. The neonatologist warned me that the low tone would follow him for the rest of his life, but that it shouldn’t stop him from any physical endeavors he wants to pursue.

So goodbye, birth hospital. The rest of Drake’s follow-ups will all be with Cincinnati Children’s from now on. Posters for March of Dimes in April are usually made at his birth hospital, and once the restricitions of cold and flu are lifted we plan on taking a trip back to the NICU.

I’ve been thinking alot about that whole “catch up by two” thing as his birthday looms next week. I’m not sure about Drake, but I’ve certainly been in a better place emotionally in the past few months. I’ve done a better job of taking care of me and my family. I let my health go pretty far downhill in the first 6 months after his homecoming. It’s nice to feel more like ME.

 

2 Responses to “Final Discharge”


  1. February 14, 2014 at 10:51 am

    Yay for all that progress! You’re an amazing mama. Keep up the good work. So glad you’re starting to feel more like you 🙂

  2. February 15, 2014 at 3:50 am

    Hooray! for both of you! Job well done. My little one hasn’t caught up to her adjusted age yet. I don’t think she’s going to catch up by two either. Her second birthday is a few months away. But it doesn’t mean we can’t try… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


