10
Apr
14

Missing Out

Drake has been sick since early Sunday. He finished a round of the pink stuff, and 4 days later the cough was back. I put in a call to his pediatrician who advised a wait and see for a few days unless his condition worsened.

It is week of the young child at his school, so his teachers have planned a lot of fun special activities for the students. They had a trike-a-thon for St. Jude with bike safety scheduled for Tuesday, a pizza and ice cream party on Wednesday, a magician for Thursday, and a teddy bear picnic Friday. Drake usually attends on Wednesday/Thursday only, but they told me we could drop by for the other events if I wanted.

Tuesday, the fever was gone, but the cough was still in scary gross stage and it was damp so I kept him home. Wednesday he was a 98.4, chipper, and asking to go for “cream” so I took him to school. At 11:45, I got a call that he was saying his ear hurt in back and his temp was back up to 102. So I picked him up and got him into the ped’s office. Yep, 1st ear infection. 😦

Still feverish and snuggly today, but doing a bit better. It does make me think of that year in isolation and all the firsts.

I know it happens once in a while to all kids though. My brother broke out in chicken pox the day of the 1st grade zoo trip. I had a stomach virus in 8th grade when I was supposed to get to travel to Dallas with my enrichment class to see Phantom of the Opera.

At least, he’s too little to know he missed much. Like the Cubbies, there’s always next year!

20140410-230821.jpg

0 Responses to “Missing Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


