20
Mar
15

Star of the Week

This week at school, Drake was the Star. His preschool teacher has designated a week for each of her students with an interview sheet asking about them. Items such as “my friends,” “my family,” “my favorite book,” etc.

It was fun filling out Drake’s answers. I wish I had remembered to write it down or take a picture. I’m apparently the type of mom that pins a lot of the cute ideas on Pinterest, but I rarely actually use any of them.

Being the Star, also means you get a bulletin board put up that shows your answers to the questions and includes 8 special photos from birth to 3. The teacher has them show and describe the photos to their classmates.

I debated for a week on what photo to use for Drake’s birth. Definitely not his actual first photo like the other kids. It shows him in what looks like a ziploc bag while his Daddy talks to him as they decide if he needs to be intubated or not. The second photo isn’t much better for a group of three year olds. It’s our favorite NICU nurse assisting in his setup. He’s fighting the tube and kicking the foot with the pulse ox on it. After a few days the shots get better, of CPAP instead of tube and resting peacefully in the incubator, or should I just send the going home picture of a little over a month old where he looks like a teeny regular newborn? We were very lucky.

I picked out four that I didn’t think would traumatize his class, and then let him pick which one to use. He selected the photo we use on his March for Babies team page.

drake 2 days old

The rest of the pictures were easy. A pic of him and Daddy making his first beach sandcastle this past October. A picture of the three of us dressed as pirates at Mickey’s Halloween party. A picture of him in his 3rd birthday shirt with a Jake and the Neverland pirates wig on. In the snow up to his thighs. Riding his bike on the first 50 degree day of March.

His teacher reported to me that he did very well describing his pictures to his class. “This is me. I was sick so I was in the hospital. I needed help breathing so I had a straw.”

I think this road away from the NICU is all about our journey as parents. To our kids, it’s just their story.

0 Responses to “Star of the Week”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


