20
Aug
15

Back to School

It’s back to school week! So far no new seizures. My little man moved up, literally to the upstairs, to the Preschool 2 class. The big goal for this year is to write his name before moving to pre-K (!) next year.

The first homework assignment this week was to fill out an about me sheet. The first few questions were the typical what is your name, what are your parent’s name. According to Drake, he wants to be a librarian and his favorite foods (that he doesn’t eat) are chicken, hamburgers and bread. I was tasked with filling out the “something special about me” section. For the first two years, I always put something about his prematurity or clubfoot and what he has overcome. This time, I wrote about his love of travel and “cations.” He is so excited to use his passport to go “to PIRATE island” in 8 weeks.

In a way, it feels like a betrayal to how awesome he is to not share that part of his story. Prematurity will always be an important part of his story, and his new teacher has been made aware of his current challenges. However, prematurity is becoming more my story and his dad’s story than his, and I am so relieved.

According to my Facebook “on this day,” 3 years ago we went back into hibernation. Drake had been out of the NICU since late March and we were on RSV isolation from March to late June because it was a bad year with numerous RSV cases. Despite his need for surgery in November, Drake still didn’t qualify for Synagis even with his doctor and us filing a formal appeal. I was lucky. My job agreed to let me work part time and mostly from home, so my husband and I were able to make it work without the loss of my entire income.

RSV isolation, especially over multiple years, is HARD. Hugs to all the families prepping to spend the winter saying “no,” using copious amounts of hand sanitizer, and praying that their child makes it through healthy and at home.

   
    
 

0 Responses to “Back to School”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


