30
Mar
16

Just One of Life’s (Embarrassing) Moments

My husband left yesterday morning for a business trip. He’ll be back on Friday. The night before, he decided that he needed a couple extra polo shirts and some undershirts and socks. We headed to Kohl’s.

D had skipped his nap, so he fell asleep in the car seat as soon as he was strapped in. We shopped and he woke up about the time we were ready to check out. A quick trip through the toy aisle so he could just “see” and we were ready to go.

D’s in a “helper” stage and wants to be involved in everything. Kohl’s has these really deep shopping carts with a kiddie seat. We had thrown the socks and undershirts in the bottom, and lay the shirts across the top. I bypassed the polo shirts laying on the top of the cart to get the undershirt package that was laying in the bottom. Right when I was coming up with the shirts. Drake yanked up on the polos. So when you fish, the hook catches the fish. I think I know what that feels like now.

That metal coat hanger went up my left nostril and stuck there because the end was sharp. I immediately tried to carefully remove it,, streaming blood, and as visions of going to the ER with a hanger on my face danced in my mind. Luckily, it came free. I’m streaming blood from my nose trying not to get it anywhere and trying not to freak out. Drake is screaming, scared and my husband is telling me to head to the bathroom.

The lady behind me hands me a wad of tissues to hold on my face as I trek 10 miles from the registers to the back of the store where the restroom is located. A bit of pressure, a good washing, and a cold rag later and I was good to go.

I came out to my husband waiting for me because he had no way to pay for the goods. I had his wallet and phone in my purse since he had tried on some clothes. The second trip through the register went much better.

I called my mom (she’s a RN) and asked what was safe to clean and treat the inside of my nose. She gave me some instructions and finished with the parting advice to never underestimate how quickly a little kid can execute a take down.

One of my friends said she hoped I wouldn’t be offended if she got him a fishing pole next year for his birthday. He’s already got one, and I guess all that practice casting the little weighted fish has paid off.

 

 

0 Responses to “Just One of Life’s (Embarrassing) Moments”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drake’s 3rd Birthday

February 20th, 2015

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


